Ia Jonsson

28 years old

Strängnäs, Sweden

For how many years have you been working out and why?

"Almost my whole life. Started with gymnastics when I was 5 years old, and also dancing when I was 10 years. Did that until I was around 22 years and had to stop because of an back injury, so that’s when I started to go to the gym instead. Gymnastics has and will always be my favorite kind of training, cause of the challenge to always trying to do better than the last time, the strong body you build, the teamwork and ofcourse of all the fun. I loved to compete with my team, traveling every weekend and always striving to be the best. Why I started to go to the gym is because I got injured, and since I liked dancing I could go to the danceclasses, like Zumba, aerobic and such. I also did a lot of cardio just to burn more calories."

Which kind of workout do you practice?

"I started with weightlifting around 2,5 years ago. I do the classic “bodybuilding” training, to get volume and to build more muscles, but also different group training like spinning, tabata, grit and such. Im also an instructor in different gym classes, like spinning, core and circle training."

What’s your favorite workout and why?

"Sumodeadlifts! Because that’s the exercise I feel that I get stronger and can lift heavier the fastest, its fun to lift heavy and also cause I get great contact in gluteus, and who doesn’t want bigger glutes ;)?"

What’s the worst workout and why?

"Regular barbell squats. I do train it but I don’t like it very much, which is very sad cause it’s a great exercise for the whole body and specially legs (that is my priority muscle group). But somehow its hard for me to perform it, and I feel very weak when I do it."

Which body part are you proud of the most and why?

"My upper back and shoulders."

Which body part are you not satisfied with and why?

"My quads. I’m having it really hard for them to grow, if I compare to the rest of my body. I believe we all have a part of our bodies that’s not responding as well as the rest, and those are my weakest point. Ofcourse I do train them as hard and frequent as the rest of my body (today even more) but they are still “falling behind”."

Have you ever competed and what position did you get? Would you do it (again)?

"Yes, in bikini fitness. I did my debut last year, spring 2016 where I placed 4th in a beginners class, and 6th in senior class. Have also competed this spring in 2 different contests where I placed 6th in both."

How did it feel like on stage?

"I love it! So much joy and happiness =). It’s such a great feeling to get to show everyone the physic you´ve worked so hard to get."

Are you getting any help with your workout or dietplans?

"Yes I have a coach who helps me with that. Johan Ederer is his name. He has helped me with my both preparation both years, but also some months before onseason starts. He is the best! So much knowledges, down to earth and really caring about you, that you get the best out of everything, feel good and is also super great at motivating you to do your best. I know that I will have my best physic ever when I get up on that stage."

What kind of diet plan are you on?

"I competed 2 weeks ago (April 15th) so I just started my offseason. I eat according to a schedule I’ve got from my coach (Johan Ederer) that will help me grow muscle with the best quality, without putting on any “unnecessary” fat on my body (with hard training of course). There is no limit time on that right now, but its until I’ve decided when I want to compete again."

Are you taking any supplements?

"Yes, omega-3, multivitamin, calcium, potassium, protein powder and BCAA."

Do you have any favorite products? Workout clothes, shakers, protein bars or so? Why and where do you buy them?

"Not really. I use different brands depending on quality, taste and prices. When it comes to clothes I often by the ones I think look and feel good. I do though prefer Fairing products when it comes to vitamins cause I know that then I get the best quality and clean product."

Where do you work out and why?

"At Worldclass. I work here and that’s the gym I think is the best here in Strängnäs."

When are you satisfied? Or will you ever be?

"Never! ;) I just started my fitness career so I have a lot of things to improve, both in muscle growth but also experience and strength. I don’t think you should ever be satisfied. Having goals to work towards is good for everyone."

How much does your workout mean for you and why?

"I want to say everything. Every time I train I feel so good, and also afterwards I feel calm and happy, but also with new energy. It’s my way to get rid of stress and just think about “nothing” for a while."

How tall are you and how much do you weigh at the moment?

"I’m 173cm. Today I weigh 61,5kilos, but are probably going to put on a couple of kilos more for my offseason. On stage my weigh is 58-59kilos."

How much time do you use on fitness?

"During offseason train at least 5 days/week, sometimes more or less depending on my schedule, how I feel and if I want to do some extra cardio some days. Onseason its 6-7 days/week and some weeks it’s twice a day. But ofcourse it’s a 24/7 thing during onseason, with all the food you always have to have control over, cardio, weight training and also sleep."

Do you have an idol - if yes; who?

"Sara Back, Bikini fitness pro from Finland. She is the reason why I started to even think about wanting to lift heavier and grow more muscles, and also to compete in Bikini fitness. I think she has one of the best physiques in the fitness industry, but is also so warmhearted, work super hard to get where she is today and just super kind."

Of all the things you have accomplished, during your 'fitness life' - what are you proud of the most?

"Hmmm…. I’m not really sure… But maybe I have to say the development of my physique between my competing last year to this one. I think that it was a big different with much more muscle mass, and that makes me a bit proud."

Date: 28.04.2017