Kennedy Jayne Atkins

19 years old

Liverpool, United Kingdom

For how many years have you been working out and why?

"I have been working out for as long as I can remember. I started martial arts; Shotokan Karate at the age of 5. I then moved on to boxing due to my instructor leaving Tenerife, where I was living at the time. I then boxed and enjoyed going the gym for years."

Which kind of workout do you practice?

"I now enjoy going the gym, lifting weights and doing spinning classes. I still do some boxing too."

What’s your favorite workout and why?

"I don't really have a favourite workout but I do really enjoy training my upper body and back."

What’s the worst workout and why?

"The worst workout has to be leg day, I feel like crawling out the gym after it."

Which body part are you proud of the most and why?

"I am really proud of how my abs have developed. I remember being about 10 years old and having lots of puppy fat, all I ever wanted was some abs!"

Which body part are you not satisfied with and why?

"I feel like there's always room for improvement in all areas, but during my next prep I'm going to focus on my shoulders and legs."

Have you ever competed and what position did you get? Would you do it (again)?

"I have only competed in one competition which was the Pure Elite Championships on the 1st of March 2017. I entered two categories Miss Bikini Babe Tall in which I came first and Miss Bikini Babe in which I came second. I loved the experience and can't wait to do it again!"

How did it feel like on stage?

"It felt great once I was on stage but when I first stepped on my legs were shaking uncontrollably, I didn't expect to be so nervous."

Are you getting any help with your workout or dietplans?

"Yes I did have some help with my diet and workout plan. The reason I was competing was because I was playing a role in a film about a girl that entered in a bikini competition, so they got me a trainer called Sean Ferguson who helped me with that. My partner however, is a professional boxer and has a lot of knowledge on training and nutrition and so helped me throughout the six weeks."

What kind of diet plan are you on?

"For my prep my diet was horrible I was on about 4/5 meals a day. Eggs and cheese for breakfast then three meals of salad with some source of protein for example turkey or steak. I would then have eggs and cheese again for my last meal. I had next to no carbs for six weeks which was really draining. I also got some help with my nutrition of a local food company called HMW Nutrition which helped me out towards the end of my prep."

Are you taking any supplements?

"My partner is a qualified herbalist and so I was taking home made supplements that acted as natural fat burner and I was also taking vitamin C which I increased daily as I got closer to the competition. "

Do you have any favorite products? Workout clothes, shakers, protein bars or so? Why and where do you buy them?

"I really liked fulfill protein bars throughout my prep, they tasted so nice when I was allowed to have them, especially the cookies and cream ones! As for workout clothes I love Nike/Adidas outfits but I hate wearing them to the gym especially when they're new, I tend to wear old clothes to the gym so the nice outfits don't get ruined haha!"

Where do you work out and why?

"I work out in a gym in Liverpool City Centre called The Millenium, Lifestyles. I chose this gym really because as a student of John Moores University i get a free pass!"

When are you satisfied? Or will you ever be?

"I was very satisfied with my results and what I achieved in my first competition but I do believe I can get even better and that there will always be room for improvements."

How much does your workout mean for you and why?

"Working out means a lot to me not only to just stay in shape but I believe it's good for your mind and to be honest I always feel like I have more energy and feel a lot better when I'm in training."

How tall are you and how much do you weigh at the moment?

"I am 5'5" and I weigh around 55kg off season. During my prep I got down to about 52kg which is a weight I thought I could never reach. "

How much time do you use on fitness?

"When I was in prep I was in the gym 7 days a week for around two hours. I didn't have a rest day, if I wasn't doing weights I was doing cardio! I haven't been the gym for a few weeks now as I have been busy moving house and in university but when I have time I'll be back in the gym everyday!"

Do you have an idol - if yes; who?

"Growing up around fighting my idol was always Mike Tyson but now I don't really have an idol I just strive to be the best I can be."

Of all the things you have accomplished, during your 'fitness life' - what are you proud of the most?

"I am proud of all of my achievements as there are many but I think getting in the shape I got in within six weeks is one of my best, it's definitely the one I worked the hardest for and put my everything into."

Date: 24.04.2017